• LPlim 2006
    Sounds of Subterrania
    SOS 071

    V/A - »Bite it!! 2006«

    1. Columbian Neckties - Eye One Two
    2. Carnation- Try let it go
    3. Devil in Miss Jones- If i was a car
    4. Hara-Kee-Rees- I don't want you no more
    5. Two-Star Hotel - There is a voice 925 Remix by Synth lio
    6. Amos - Number One

    limited on 200 copies

  • LP 180gr/CD 2006
    Sounds of Subterrania
    SOS 072/SOS 073

    --> LP 180gr 5,00 EUR
    --> CD 5,00 EUR

    THE CARNATION - »Human Universals«

    01. Label slaves
    02. Thursday’s kid
    03. Roses are red
    04. Jesus saves
    05. Fall II
    06. Easy come, easy go
    07. War poetry
    08. Where’s the violence?
    09. A simple case of hate
    10. These words don’t lie
    11. You may raise your fist
    12. Say those things to me
    13. On the losing end

    On ”Human Universals” The Carnation are leaving their new wave-infected sound for something rather different. While the harsh vocal delivery remains intact in places, the overall impression of the album is one of development. With the inclusion of synthesizers, dance grooves and Christian Bergman’s melancholic-psychedelic slide guitar parts the band has certainly come a long way since their debut with “Gothenburg Rifle Association”.
    The new record begins in a stylish way with the delayed drums of soul-pop effort “Label slaves”, before the punky guitar and bass of “Thursday’s kid” kicks in. These are followed by a list of songs that combines anger, hate and frustration with political awareness and hope for the future. When singer Eric Obo barks about terrace aggro in “Where’s the violence?”, it’s actually hard not to believe him. After a staggering 42 minutes the final chord of the 13th and last song “On the losing end” fades out and the listener is guaranteed to have been affected in some way or another.

    LP 180gr/CD 2003
    Sounds of Subterrania
    SOS 046/SOS 047

    --> LP 180gr 5,00 EUR
    --> CD 5,00 EUR

    THE CARNATION - »Gothenburg rifle association«

    01. Should have seen it coming
    02. It's over
    03. No one does it better
    04. Brand new order
    05. This is the time
    06. Resembling an angel
    07. New sensation
    08. Can't get enough
    09. No other way
    10. Better face it
    11. You're always there when you need me
    12. Hold on

    With their full length debut ”Gothenburg Rifle Association”, the five gentlemen in The Carnation show beyond any doubt that they are capable of writing classy pop tunes that will stand the test of time. Of course, one tends to find loads of references popping up while enjoying the album’s twelve tracks, but the final result is totally The Carnation’s own. The Swedes seems to master many different musical genres, from haunting rock paranoia in the opening track to the straightfoward pop of the single “New sensation”, right down to the mellow nostalgia of dreamy ballad “No other way”. This pared with the fact that the band has three talented vocalists will prevent the listener from ever losing interest. Holding this diverse piece together is strength of the melodies and a very British feel, making the punkier numbers sound more like The Libertines than The Strokes. Which is a good thing.

  • MCD 2003
    Sounds of Subterrania
    SOS 044

    --> CD 3,50 EUR

    THE CARNATION - »New sensation«

    01. New Sensation
    02. Can't get enough
    03. Make it happen
    04. Circle around the sun

    With great confidence and integrity The Carnation are bursting out in four up-tempo, hardhitting songs leaving you wanting more. The title-track ”New Sensation” really knocks you off your feet. The obvious choice of single from ”Gothenburg Rifle Association” with a chorus that gets into your head and simply stays there. ”New Sensation” is supported by another album track - ”Can’t get enough”, an uncompromising track with trashy guitars and punk attitude. The two additional songs are the lovely popsong ”Make it happen” and the psychadelic flirt ”Circle around the sun”. All in all a lovely set of songs and a good introduction to the bands music.

  • 7" 2003
    Sounds of Subterrania
    SOS 031

    --> 7'' 3,00 EUR

    THE CARNATION - »Take action!«

    01. It’s over
    02. Song for you
    03. I don’t want to lose you
    04. Reawakening

    The first studio effort by the band and also their first official release through Sounds Of Subterrania two years later. A crisp and smooth recording with ringing guitars and great pop melodies, maybe best shown in ”Song for you”. Opening track ”It’s Over” got it’s share of attention and well deserved airplay. This EP is not a statement but it surely points out the direction the band were heading.